Atlantic Canada

2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards: Quake wins SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award

2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards: Quake wins SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award

You are here: Home // Audio / Music, Central Canada, International, Song of the Day // #SOTD | JD Era – Hate Me Later ft. Mac Miller [Audio]

#SOTD | JD Era – Hate Me Later ft. Mac Miller [Audio]

Toronto, ON – We’re just a few days shy of the release date for the highly anticipated new JD Era project, No Handouts. With April 16th right around the corner, the first official single “Hate Me Later” featuring Mac Miller has been released. The Beat Merchant-produced song is HipHopCanada’s Song of the Day. Click the jump link to check out the tune and for more information about No Handouts, including the official track listing.

The song has been out for less than an hour and people are already speculating as to who the song is directed at. Well if you’re at all familiar with Toronto hip-hop, the song’s title might immediatly make you think of another particular Toronto artist’s debut album title — but listen to the song and draw your own conclusions. Also, this coming Monday will mark the release of HipHopCanada’s new Spotlight featuring JD Era. Look out for the in-depth interview with HipHopCanada’s own Jonathon “Bizz” Brown! Big shouts to CEO Fa$e!

Audio: JD Era - Hate Me Later ft. Mac Miller -

Download MP3 (PC Users: Right-click and select “Save Target/Link As…”)

Twitter: @JDEra | @MacMiller | @Merch550

No Handouts Press Release

No Handouts will be the first release from JD ERA under his signed deal to hip-hop guru Raekwon’s label Ice H2O Canada Inc. It will be released in association with BMMG., and distributed by eOne Music Canada. This is a FREE digital download available for all via on April 16th, 2012, featuring A-list Producers such as Award Winning BET Producer of the year: Lex Luger, Grammy Award Winner: 9th Wonder, Mark Henry, Pro Logic, Snaz, Burd x Keyz, Beat Merchant, Rich Kidd and Tronz. The 13-track mixtape includes collaborations from a guest list highlighted by Raekwon, Mac Miller and other surprise features. There will be a deluxe version of No Handouts available for purchase via iTunes, which will include bonus tracks not found on the download version.

The first official single from No Handouts will be “Hate Me Later” featuring Mac Miller. There are set to be two music videos featured from No Handouts used for viral campaigns, as well as being serviced to television music stations such as Much Music, MTV and BET.

With over 6 years in the game JD ERA has become a staple artist in Toronto, receiving multiple acclamations and notable plays on radio. With over 1,000,000 combined views on YouTube, vital Hip Hop Blogs, and an overall steady online following, JD ERA is truly living up to the fact that he is one of Canada’s best lyricists and ghost writers. Applauded by his peers and other industry professionals for his freestyle flow, JD ERA possesses an unrelenting demeanor and competitive attitude that has helped name him the Champion at the Marc Ecko Freestyle Competition, leading him to perform alongside artists Nas, Gza, Kardinal Offishall, Tyga, Drake, Method Man, Red Man, Raekwon, Rick Ross, Busta Rhymes, Gucci Mane, The Clipse, Mac Miller, Terminology, Currensy and Freddie Gibbs. JD ERA has been nominated for two DJ Stylus Awards and took home the hardware for Best Rap at the Toronto Independent Music Awards. His freestyle prowess was highlighted once again when he was crowned the winner of the TAG Records’ Survival of The Freshest competition, solidifying his freestyle champion designation. For the 2011 and 2012 NBA seasons JD ERA’s talent and likability secured his song “Court Surfing” as the theme song spot on The Score network’s NBA program broadcast across Canada. JD ERA is also featured on Raekwon’s latest mixtape Unexpected Victory, including two lead videos for tracks “Just A Toast” & “Soldier Story”. JD ERA has been cooking up a storm with The Chef (Raekwon) across 45+ Canadian and American cities since February 2012 on the Unexpected Victory tour.

Currently two Vlogs are available online for new and old fans to follow Raekwon and JD ERA throughout their adventures on the West Coast of Canada in B.C., interacting with fans, shooting videos and ripping stages apart with head bangin’ audiences.

Judging from the string of singles that have been released JD ERA fans have proclaimed the much anticipated No Handouts project to be a XXL freshmen classic. An expected victorious No Handouts tour will follow shortly after the mixtape release in Summer 2012.

No Handouts Track Listing

01 – JD Era – Save Me ft. Ayah (Prod. Pro Logic)
02 – JD Era – Top The Game (Prod. Snaz)
03 – JD Era – No Handouts ft. Lokz (Prod. Rich Kidd)
04 – JD Era – Yoga Flame (Prod. Lex Luger)
05 – JD Era – Live for the Moment (Prod. Beat Merchant)
06 – JD Era – The Greatest ft. Raekwon (Prod. Tronz)
07 – JD Era – Smokin’ Good (Prod. Lex Luger)
08 – JD Era – Canada Eh! (Prod. Mark Henry)
09 – JD Era – 9th Inning ft. Raekwon (Prod. 9th Wonder)
10 – JD Era – I Need You ft. Shi Wisdom (Prod. BurdxKeyz)
11 – JD Era – Hate Me Later ft. Mac Miller (Prod. Beat Merchant)
12 – JD Era – Rule The World (Prod. Snaz)
13 – JD Era – Hero ft. The Let Up (Prod. Snaz)

No Handouts Video Teaser

Don’t forget to check out

Tags: , ,


Posted by

@HipHopCanada is Canada's largest source for Canadian hip-hop. Check back regularly for new music, videos, stories and discussion. Be sure to follow our updates on Twitter @HipHopCanada. This account is maintained by various members of the HipHopCanada team.

  1. Chris Thomas

    glad to be able to say i have worked with these mans, even more hyped that toronto finally on the come up.. say word

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.