Atlantic Canada

2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards: Quake wins SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award

2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards: Quake wins SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award

You are here: Home // Central Canada, Central Canada Feature, Hip-Hop News, Mixtapes / Albums, Mixtapes Feature // I Think You’ve Gone Mad: You need to listen to Sean Leon’s new 20-track album

I Think You’ve Gone Mad: You need to listen to Sean Leon’s new 20-track album

Toronto, ON – Earlier this month Toronto artist Sean Leon finally released his highly anticipated, long-awaited 20-track album entitled I Think You’ve Gone Mad (Or The Sins Of The Father).

This album is the first part of the Black Sheep Nirvana trilogy, and comes to us after Sean’s massive film premiere in Toronto for Life When You’re The Movie. The album features production credits from WondaGurl, Eestbound, and Bijan Amir, as well as features from Daniel Caesar and the late Redway (R.I.P.).

Tory Lanez releases album debut, I Told You; sits at No. 2 on iTunes Album chart -

Sean intros the album with the WondaGurl produced “Daughter (Hailey-Nirvana)”; a perfect first track on the album to introduce us to Sean’s daughter Xylo and his role as a father. From there Sean goes through an impressive catalogue of previously released loosies like “God / Guard Up”, “Matthew In the Middle” (featuring Daniel Caesar), “81”, “Favorite Rapper / Hundred Million”, and more.

The track listing also features a handful of new joints that dive even deeper into Sean’s more paternal side such as the Zep Fire and WondaGurl produced “Sins of the Father (100 Bitches)”. Another particularly heavy song exploring Sean’s role as a father is the two-parter “Xylo’s Lullaby / Sweet Girls Always Fall for the Monsters”, which sees Sean serenading his daughter during the first half of the song and then offering up a humble confession during the second half: “I’m the reason why fathers/ Don’t wanna have daughters/ Sweet, sweet girls always fall for the monsters/ Fathers/ Protect your daughters/ Sweet (Sweet girls always fall for the monsters).”

Stream the album above via Spotify, and check it out on Apple Music and TIDAL, as well. And if you really want to show some love, hop on over to Bandcamp to cop the album for $100 (because Sean Leon would make his album $100 on Bandcamp).

Tracklist: I Think You’ve Gone Mad

1. Daughter (Hailey-Nirvana)
2. God / Guard Up
3. (Off The) Deep End
4. 905 9TO5
5. (Heaven or) Suburbia
6. Matthew In the Middle
7. Win
8. Kill My Mind
9. 81 (Prequel)
10. 81
11. Favorite Rapper / Hundred Million Religion
12. BLK PNK MF’ER / Me & My Bitch
13. Sins of the Father (100 Bitches)
14. Black Sheep Nirvana
15. Xylo’s Lullaby / Sweet Girls Always Fall for the Monsters
16. I Made It / Debt & Vendettas / Summer Now
17. Hey Pretty Girl With the Dirty Mouth II
18. Salt Lake City
19. Redway’s Song
20. The Drowning Man

Twitter: @seanleon

Tags: , ,

Sarah Jay

Posted by

Sarah Jay is based in Calgary and works as a freelance journalist and photographer. Sarah is also a former A&R talent scout for the Universal Music Scouting Program, and runs a vintage store during the day. Sarah has juried the JUNO Awards, The Polaris Music Prize, and The Prism Prize. She has been fortunate enough to interview and photograph some of hip-hop's greatest influencers including Future, ScHoolboy Q, Ghostface Killah, Moka Only, Maestro Fresh Wes, Shad, Joey Bada$$, Mac Miller, and more. Follow Sarah on Twitter: @ThisIsSarahJay

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.