Atlantic Canada

2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards: Quake wins SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award

2017 Music Nova Scotia Awards: Quake wins SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award

You are here: Home // Articles / Reviews, Canadian Prairies, Central Canada, East Coast Canada, Event Coverage, Feature, International, Upcoming Events, West Coast Canada // The 2017 Prism Prize announces the Top 20 Canadian music videos of the year

The 2017 Prism Prize announces the Top 20 Canadian music videos of the year

Toronto, ON – This morning the Prism Prize released its annual Top 20 long list of Canadian music videos of the year.

Determined by a jury of more than 120 music, film and media arts professionals, The Prism Prize is an award given based on originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution. This year’s Top 20 list features quite a few of our favourite artists including BADBADNOTGOOD, Kaytranada, Harrison, Clairmont The Second, Jazz Cartier, SonReal, Majid Jordan, and A Tribe Called Red.

From this Top 20 list, a short list of 10 videos will be announced on Tuesday, March 28. Then one winning video will be awarded $15,000.00 cash at the Prism Prize Award Presentation and Screening on May 14, 2017 at TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. Watch the Top 20 announcement video below, and view the 2017 Prism Prize Top 20 list after the jump.

Bane - Be Okay ft. Milly Manson (Prod. Eestbound, Co. Wondagurl) -

2017 Prism Prize: Top 20

A Tribe Called Red feat. Black Bear – Stadium Pow Wow (Director: Kevan Funk)
Aidan Knight – What Light (Never Goes Dim) (Director: FT Langley)
Andy Shauf – The Magician (Director: Winston Hacking)
BADBADNOTGOOD feat. Kaytranada – Lavender (Director: Fantavious Fritz)
Braids – Companion (Director: Kevan Funk)
Dilly Dally – Snakehead (Director: Scott Cudmore)
Grimes – Kill V. Maim (Directors: Claire and Mac Boucher)
Harrison feat. Clairmont The Second – It’s Okay, I Promise (Director: Scott Cudmore)
Holy Fuck – Tom Tom (Director: Michael Leblanc)
Jazz Cartier – Red Alert / 100 Roses (Director: Jon Riera)
July Talk – Picturing Love (Director: Jared Raab)
Kaytranada – Lite Spots (Director: Martin C. Pariseau)
Lisa LeBlanc – Gold Diggin’ Hoedown (Director: Didier Charette)
PUP – DVP (Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)
PUP – Sleep in the Heat (Director: Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)
Ronley Teper’s Lipliners – Lucky and Finnegan (Director: Davide Di Saro)
Somewhere Else feat. Majid Jordan – Move Together (Director: Helmi)
SonReal – Can I Get A Witness (Director: Peter Huang)
Tanya Tagaq – Retribution (Director: Brian Johnson)
Wintersleep – Amerika (Director: Scott Cudmore)

About: The Prism Prize

The Prism Prize is now the largest cash prize in the world for music videos. Established in 2012, it is an annual award recognizing outstanding artistry in Canadian music videos, and is produced by the not-for-profit Association for Music and Innovative Arts. The vision of the Prism Prize is to promote and support homegrown Canadian creative projects, and bolster the Canadian music landscape. Previous winners have included Philip Sportel for Kalle Mattson’s Avalanche (2016), Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre’s Beat The Drum Slowly (2015), Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife (2014), and Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2013).

The Prism Prize is also happy to announce the return of Slaight Music as Lead Sponsor of the Prism Prize. “The Prism Prize shines the light on talented artists both behind the camera and the microphone in addition to celebrating some of Canada’s most relevant musicians and directors,” says Derrick Ross, President of Slaight Music, “for that, we are proud to support the Prism Prize again this year.” Slaight Music will present the Special Achievement Award, as well as a post-screening celebration following the 2017 Prism Prize Awards Presentation.

“Slaight Music promotes and fosters incredible new Canadian talent, providing them with an essential platform to be seen and heard. We are proud to associate Prism Prize with their great work, and look forward to another year celebrating these musicians together,” said Louis Calabro.

On Sunday, May 14, 2017, along with the $15,000 Grand Prize for best Canadian music video of the year; organizers will present the Audience Award (presented by Noisey Canada); the Special
Achievement Award (presented by Slaight Music) for artistic achievements and exceptional world-wide contribution to music video art; and the Lipsett Award (presented by MuchFACT) for innovative and unique approaches to music video art.

For more information, and a comprehensive list of the best Canadian music videos, check out

Bane - Be Okay ft. Milly Manson (Prod. Eestbound, Co. Wondagurl) -

Twitter: @PrismPrize

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Litecoin Miner - Mine and Earn free Litecoin.
Sarah Jay

Posted by

Sarah Jay is based in Calgary and works as a freelance journalist and photographer. Sarah is also a former A&R talent scout for the Universal Music Scouting Program, and runs a vintage store during the day. Sarah has juried the JUNO Awards, The Polaris Music Prize, and The Prism Prize. She has been fortunate enough to interview and photograph some of hip-hop's greatest influencers including Future, ScHoolboy Q, Ghostface Killah, Moka Only, Maestro Fresh Wes, Shad, Joey Bada$$, Mac Miller, and more. Follow Sarah on Twitter: @ThisIsSarahJay

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.